top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAl. Lopez

Let's talk about revisiting AL2009man in 2018.

Updated: Aug 11, 2019


Once again, I STILL haven't spend more time with Blog Posts...but 2018 has come and go, so...Let's talk about my time during 2018!

 

Videos


Al's Quickies has turned out to be a success for my channel, as I have created at least 17 Quickies throughout 2018. those who wonder, "ok, why are you trying to copyin' Dolan Dark or Grandayy?", well, they're the reason why I decided to make meme-like videos. I felt like I wanna have tons of fun (and sometimes, tedious) while learning some new techniques and tools from Vegas Pro. (which, I "borrowed").


don't worry, I'm still gonna make mainline videos, as I've already created 5 mainline videos (including Stream highlights) this year!


alongside my ways of promoting my videos on Reddit, KnowYourMeme and Discord communities (the same tactic I used for my LittleBigPlanet levels), my viewership count has increased significant and some milestones.


in fact, my YouTube channel has successfully reached 100 subscribers, quite a sense and joy of a accomplishment. meanwhile on my video-side, I have gained 23.2K Views and 18.6K Minutes spend on my videos, a 66-60% increased from 2017, which my channel started gaining a bit of traction.



meanwhile on Al's Quickies, the top 4 of my videos of 2018 has stand out the most, "Akko accidentally opens Michael Stevens' (of Vsauce) door.", "Popuko pick up a phone call, it's the Wisdom Service", "Rigby pull his Devilish Idea" & "Super Smash Bros. Ultimate X Bright Burning Shout (Trailer Remix)" is those videos that has performed amazing well for my channel, and has probably increased my channel's popularity.


2018 was the year that I decided to upgrade my channel from a Personal to Brand, due to my secondary channel appears more on Search than my first one, I'll talk more about that in...

 

Livestreams


This year, I decided to fully commit to livestream.


the beginning was very hard for me to get everything setup professionally. I've been testing my stream setup, using #PS4Share, using PS4 Remote Play on PCs, or playing PC Games on a semi-potato laptop. I even went so far as setting up a Virtual Audio drive since I didn't have a proper Gaming headset during that time, which doesn't help that I have to avoid background noise.


but I've overcome them all.


live streaming this year felt more like a experiment to me, figuring out the my schedule, how long am I gonna stream and learning to interact with 0 viewers while dealing with bulllshit.


eventually, I decided to Multistream (via Restream) since my YouTube channel is bigger than my Twitch channel right now. surprising, Restream actually improved my stream quality alot, dealing with alot of frame drops was a pain in my ass before using Restream.


I think during that time, I launched a event stream called "AL2009man & TAM Friends Presents: Cards Against Humanity", a group of people cam together to play cards, there was some of the funniest moments in the game. sadly, due to lack of people joining-in, I have decided to put the event stream on hold for the time being.


however...most of my fun from my livestreams came from VRChat.


the reason why I spend a lot of time streaming VRChat was because of Jameskii and StealthRG, that's why I went ahead and do VRChat streams full of filler, technical error, stalkin- i mean lurking...and such.


but if it wasn't for the popularity surge of VRChat 2018, I would've missed out on Open Mic Show hosted by MatLockHD. I found out about it in SealthRG's Discord, so I decided to join-in, twice. although, the majority of the talent came from singing (and trust me, my singing skills is horrible), my talent actually shines when I though of making jokes about VRChat streamers, thus, my two-part Comedy Routine was born. up to this day, I still revisit the first Routine, and I still get a laugh out of it, just because that one power ranger didn't liked my jokes.


...months later, I decided to move on from VRChat (temporary, due to lack of fun things going around and lack of talent shows) and focus more on my playthroughs.

now, if you wanna watch my previous streams, I have recently created a new channel called "The AL2009man Theater", a Archived livestream channel, abeat, losing some licensed music. This specific channel is why I decided to change my channel from "Al. Lopez" to "AL2009man".


...after my Heavy Rain playthrough, I decided to put my livestream stuffs on hold due to me, moving to United States of America. you can read my previous post if you like to know more.


that means, my Hotline Miami and The Surge playthrough is also put on hold until further notices.

 

KnowYourMeme


This was a year where I went crazy with memes.


So...in short, I have posted over 1,302 images, 235 videos and 12 entries in just one year.


alongside the pain of compression and gif making, it was quite a experience. I've learned that sourcing is very important, I shouldn't heavily rely on wikipedias as main source while making/editing entries, optimizing file sizes to fit the 5mb limit... the most important part: discovering pretty damn good artists so I can follow them on Twitter and pixiv.

 

Fanfictions


2018 was the year that I wrote two fanfictions. yeah, it's been a long time I written one.


first one, The Principal’s Office - A JessicaXFolkona fanfiction.


it is a remake of a fanfiction that StealthRG wrote randomly on his Discord channel, chat goes wild. but why me, of all people decided to remake a fanfiction that wasn't taken even seriously?


because it didn't have a ending.


I took it upon myself and remade the entire fanfiction, took me 8 hours to complete it with advices/feedback from a community member. and it is officially live...in StealthRG community.


the reaction of it was pretty positive, so yeah. if you're wondering on where you can read the fanfiction, here's a link. but, if you would like to hear the original, I don't think I can find it (but i'm sure StealthRG streamed original fanfic with TheGreatKhan as a narrator...using his Morgan Freeman voice), but if you can find it, send a link down in the comments section.


now, let's move on to my second and last Fanfiction: The Jokester.


as the video description says, it was originally gonna be a talent show segment based on my Comedy Routine series, but then there wasn't any Open Mic show since then, 3 months later, I revisit the segment, turn it into a fanfiction in a video format, which, you can watch by clicking this. it is also my longest video to produce in 2018. (but it doesn't beat Custom Stickers Collection 1.20's production length)

 

Going ahead in 2019?


Here's what I'm planning to do ahead of 2019:


  • Moving Season

I'll believe around February or March 2019 is where I will start moving to another house/apartment with more rooms, as I'm staying with my family member. this will be one of my SIGNIFICANT GOALS OF 2019.


  • Two mainline videos planned for 2019

I'm confident to say that I'm planning to do two mainline videos around 2019, I won't be revealing the information on this nor tease, but do expect them around 2019.


  • Return to Livestream

Once I can move to a new apartment with a proper room for me to sleep in, I can officially return to livestream, but this time, I got a new setup!


I already got myself a new, proper Gaming Laptop (more specifically, a Acer Nitro 5) and a Gaming Headset with noise cancellation. this should allow me to improve the quality of my streams and increasing the availability of PC Games that I can stream on without worrying about my laptop's heat. (and I found out undervolting exist)


  • Bringing back my Cards Against Humanity streams

I'd became more interested in bringing back my stream series that I used to host, again, once I return to Livestream, I'm start planning with a potential new time slot and suchs, I'm still thinking of where do I go from there.

 

that's probably it for this blog post, I see you later in 2019!

22 views0 comments
bottom of page